Ilma Kelson and Penelope Thwaites Music Scholar Award Recipients

4th Jul 2017

Congratulations to Siobhan Muirhead (Year 11), Ron Chen (Year 10), Charlotte Du Blêt (Year 5) and Sophia Li (Year 5) who are our 2017 Ilma Kelson and Penelope Thwaites Music Scholar Award recipients. For the past 14 years, these awards have recognised students who show dedication to music and offered encouragement to further develop their musical pursuits.

Mrs Ilma Kelson was the Music Director at Tintern from 1958 to 1973. During her time at our school she developed the Classroom Music program, up to and including the Higher School Certificate. The Choral groups flourished under her leadership, with performances and touring opportunities throughout Country Victoria and Europe. Following her time at Tintern, Mrs Kelson continued to foster the development of young performers through a range performance opportunities across many sectors of the community.

Ms Penelope Thwaites was a student at Tintern from 1953 to 1960, School Pianist from 1958 to 1960 and a member of the Madrigal Group in 1958 and 1959. After leaving Tintern, Penelope composed the music for a setting of the Tintern Psalm in honour of Miss Constance Wood’s completion of 25 years as Headmistress. Penelope has performed and broadcast in over 25 countries on five continents. She is also one of our inaugural Avenue of Excellence inductees.

by Alison Bezaire, Director of Music